Monthly Archives: May 2018

P3a Spring Haiku

P3a have been creating beautiful spring haiku.

Haiku are a Japanese form of poetry that uses a three line format and restricted numbers of “morae” which are similar to our syllables.

They also work to juxtapose two ideas and have a kind of fulcrum word where the balance shifts from one to the other.

They are often related to a spring or natural subject. So with spring in the air and P3a doing Forest Schools it’s the perfect time for trying them out.

School Dates for 2018/19

Here are the school opening dates for 2018/19, these dates include teacher in-service days.

The school dates for this year are as follows:

Autumn

Term starts Wednesday 15 August 2018

Mid-term holidays 

  • Monday 17 September 2018,  Autumn holiday
  • Monday 15 to Monday 22 October 2018,  mid term break

Term ends Friday 21 December 2018

Christmas holidays

  • Monday 24 December 2018 to Tuesday 8 January 2019

Spring

Term starts Wednesday 9 January 2019

Mid-term holidays

  • Monday 11 to Friday 15 February 2019,  mid term break

Term ends Friday 5 April 2019

Easter holidays

  • Monday 8th April to Monday 22 April 2019

Summer

Term starts Tuesday 23 April 2019

Mid-term holidays

  • Monday 6 May 2019, May Day
  • Tuesday 7 May 2019, staff in service day
  • Monday 20 May 2019, Victoria Day

Term ends Friday 28 June 2019.

 

If you wish to have an iCalendar or printable PDF version then click the link below to get them from the council website

Term Dates on the council website

Meda Puts the Work in For Streetwork

Meda in P5 was recently thanked for organising a collection at Dalry Primary on behalf of Streetwork, the Edinburgh homelessness charity.

Streetwork’s letter said,

“A Big thank you for the recent donation made by the pupils of Dalry Primary School for homeless people. We Would also like to thank Meda in P5 for her kind and thoughtful idea to oraganise a collection for us it is very much appreciated.”

Well done Meda and thanks to all who donated.

SPLASHING FUN AT DALRY SWIM CENTRE

The children, parents and staff had great fun in the pool at Dalry Swim Centre on Thursday 10th May and Thursday 17th May.

For some children it was their very first time swimming.  Everyone really enjoyed playing with the toys and floats and learning to kick our legs and move our arms in the water at the same time.  There are several Swim Centres in the city run by Edinburgh Leisure.  The summer holiday is a great time to book swimming lessons and help your child to develop their swimming skills.